Something More.

There’s gotta be more. There’s gotta be something more.

I’m tired of this 9–5 (or more like 10–9).
I’m tired of draining my life each day,
just to wait for Saturday
and 10 days of getaway.

I’m tired of being a churchgoer with
people nice enough to spend Sunday with,
whom I’d rather battle the everyday with.

I’m tired of church shaming,
all the focus on our sinning,
even gossiping, not living
here in Christ-like unity.

Of a life marked by mediocrity,
no matter how high my salary,
no matter how far my feet can reach,
or just how large my property.

There’s gotta be more. There’s gotta be something more.

I’m so sick of believing
with the next thing,
I’ll start living.
That this world’s best is my portion,
just to go through all the motions.

That by 30, I should marry
with a husband and two-story
and is that all my life’s story
could bring glory to? Is it?

Thanks to Jesus, it’s rewritten
and my story’s not the standard
but adventurous and branded
now as wild yet surrendered.

Want adventure? You won’t find it
if you live just one-track-minded.
There’s no man-made plane can climb
the likes
of soaring high with Him.

Thanks to Jesus, I can dream,
’til I’m undone at the seams
and the best place I can be
is merely anywhere with Him.

Leave a Reply

