Selling Your Soul to Sallie Mae

School is one thing. Education is another. The two don’t always overlap. ~Steal Like An Artist, by Austin Kleon

So I’m chillin’ at Pinkberry, soothing my shaking muscles with the cold, comforting solace that is yogurt and chocolate crunch after the most intense workout of my life (just a little dramatic), when I stumble upon this gem of a quote. It brings me back to something a friend said recently.

“You’re a good writer. You should go to grad school.”

I’ve always disputed this idea in my mind because I believe that my field is one where practical application supersedes anything I can learn behind a school desk. In digital marketing, trends are changing every day… So much, that your textbook will be obsolete tomorrow.

One of the most creative and brilliant people I’ve ever met, Bryan Boettger, once shared a great secret of succeeding in your career…

Read.
Everything.
Anything.

Not only can inspiration come from the most unlikely places, but the more you open your mind to new things, the wider your universe will grow. And you don’t even need to shackle your soul to Sallie Mae for this journey.

20140213-204306.jpg

I tried to find this quote I once read about how writers should read every day, but I stumbled upon this gem instead:

If you want to write, if you want to create, you must be the most sublime fool that God ever turned out and sent rambling. You must write every single day of your life. You must read dreadful dumb books and glorious books, and let them wrestle in beautiful fights inside your head, vulgar one moment, brilliant the next. You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads. I wish you a wrestling match with your Creative Muse that will last a lifetime. I wish craziness and foolishness and madness upon you. May you live with hysteria, and out of it make fine stories — science fiction or otherwise. Which finally means, may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world. ~Ray Bradbury

Do you think grad school, or traditional schooling as we know it, is essential in the marketing arena? What about in your particular field? Interested to hear your two cents!

Leave a Reply

