Find Your Art Form: YOU are my Cata7yst

If you want to write, you can. Fear stops most people from writing, not lack of talent, whatever that is. Who am I? What right do I have to speak? Who will listen to me if I do? You’re a unique human being with a unique story to tell, and you have every right. If you speak with passion, many of us will listen. We need stories to live, all of us. We live by story. Yours enlarges the circle.

— Richard Rhodes (Source: headcoveringgeek on Tumblr)

I have a fear. A fear of creating something that doesn’t live up to the image my mind has cast.

“It’s not always about the catch; it’s about the experience.”

I am the girl who finishes nothing. I dream up HUGE ideas, but the buck stops there.

Like most things in my life, this realization drips with irony. I started this blog, Cata7yst, to push others toward their dreams through stories of people who took that bold leap of faith, themselves…

and here I am, unable to fully realize one of my own.

Finding the time to chase and sit down with one inspirational friend a week has proven tough given scheduling conflicts (and frankly, my own lackadaisical attitude). Starting this week, I’m adding to this blog. One, so I can write regularly, and two, thanks to the motivation of a few individuals who probably didn’t even know how much they’ve affected me…

5) jaysmurkz x wanderlust

It amazes me how much our souls can connect through the written word. I had mired through a rough decision that propelled me to risk everything and fly to Japan, alone. Traveling solo was on my bucket list, and come February 2013, I knew there was no time but the present to take that leap.

I threw something up on another blog about it and received this message from an acquaintance who was planning his own big move — from London, to California. His message was reassurance that my seeking heart is not alone.

JayDead

It’s always comforting to connect with other wanderers of this earth.

4) kennethsp x good, gooood music

“Absolutely love the music posts on your blog. eargasmsssss!” –Kenneth

When I received this message, I was in awe. “Kennethsp” may not blog frequently, but when he does, you know you’ve struck a gold mine of thought. His words drip with so much class and elegance, it’s like you’re gazing upon the embodiment of beauty itself. Seriously!

Needless to say, I admire this man’s writing, and for him to send props about my music choice is certainly humbling.

3) Rachel x “Just Say Yes”

So this connection didn’t happen through Tumblr (gasp!), but in real life (say what?). Rachel is a fairly new friend — one I’m very grateful for. Our moments together have always been enveloped in a sense of adventure. The night of the pirate ship, I said something that apparently resonated with her.

Just Say Yes.

I won’t go into too much detail here, but ever since that night, my foolish longing for boldness somehow encouraged Rachel to say “yes!” to every opportunity that’s come her way… and hoping she doesn’t somehow end up in jail on my account, I’m so happy that she’s finding her own sense of adventure from the thrill of it all.

2) CertifiedFresh x motivation

Confession: I have a few good souls to thank for the expansion of my music library:

  • VJ turned DIY master FancyMade
  • Writer slash curator of music to play at a dinosaur’s funeral, Rufuku
  • Graphic designer and mixtape maker  TrinadaFilipina, and finally…
  • Mr. CertifiedFresh

Carlo, aka CertifiedFresh, is one of the most musically-inclined, inspirational individuals I’ve ever had the chance to meet online. The funny thing is… we’ve actually met in person at an Onra concert in San Francisco, without even knowing it. It’s crazy how two souls can reconnect, as if the universe is forming a friendship as explosive as a supernova. Kaboom!

Carlo has opened my ears to so much good music, it’s insane. And so, when he re-shared this quote that I re-blogged (lots of sharing going on here), it blew my mind that I could affect him in some way, too.

Bad Day

“Big up to Ché for the look, I really needed to see this.” –Carlo

1) My Parents x writing

Last but not least, I would be remiss to leave out my parents.

“Finally got a chance to sit down & enjoy your posts! You’re truly a gifted writer. I read them over & over — keep writing BB.” –Mom

“Ever since you were a kid we’ve known you were a gifted writer” –Dad

Many children are inclined to playing outdoors with others. I had my fair share of playtime, but preferred to surround myself with paperbacks and hardcovers. I owe my dad largely for this; I mean, the man whipped out homemade flashcards the day my sister and I were born (okay, a little exaggerated, but still). He passed down his love for reading, which shaped me into the wordsmith I am today. I am extremely blessed to have parents who have always recognized and encouraged such gifts and passions within me.

The Final Word

The point of this post is not to pat myself on the back and let you all know how great I am (on the countrary), but to show that everything you say and do can and will affect those around you. Do not be afraid to share your gifts and dreams with the world. Marianne Wilson says it best:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

–Marianne Wilson

With that said, be on the lookout for an expansion of what’s included on this blog… Make it Mine Monday; Hot Track Tuesday, and more. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

